Log in

Walter H. Buce, Jr. Memorial Award

Honoring the Insurance and Risk Management Professional of the Year

The Atlanta RIMS Chapter encourages you to take a few minutes to complete the form below, nominating a deserving candidate. The Board of Directors will evaluate the candidates and select the winner from the submitted nominations.

Please forward your completed nomination forms to Nominations are due by Friday, December 8, 2023.

Each year, the Atlanta Chapter of RIMS presents the Walter H. Buce, Jr. Memorial Award to honor an outstanding risk management and insurance professional. The first award was presented posthumously to Walter H. Buce, Jr. to recognize his contribution to the Atlanta RIMS insurance community.

Read More about Walter H. Buce, Jr.


Eligible candidates must be a risk management or insurance professional or an educator and serve in the property and casualty segment of the industry or university. Examples of eligible segments include:

  • insurance broker
  • insurance agent
  • claims adjuster
  • underwriter
  • public official
  • insurance consultant
  • college professor
  • risk manager


Written nominations must be submitted by the deadline date on the nomination form and are judged and rated separately by a panel of directors and officers of Atlanta RIMS. The candidate with the highest aggregate rank as determined by the panel will be selected to receive the honor.

2024 Buce Award Nomination Form.docx

The recipient will be the guest of the Atlanta RIMS Chapter during the annual Atlanta RIMS Educational Conference. The award will be presented and the recipient honored during the lunch on the first day of the conference.

The chapter will announce the name of the winner of the award to the public through the chapter website and press releases.


  • 2023    Gregg Woodman, Burroughs & Chapin Company, Inc.
  • 2022    Jane Sandler, McKesson
  • 2020 Cecil Cooke, University of Georgia
  • 2019 Cathy Maher, Rollins, Inc.
  • 2018 Brett Hellenga, Turner Broadcasting System
  • 2017 Deborah Gaffney, Southern Company
  • 2016 Harold Weston, Georgia State University
  • 2015 Phil Box, Cunningham Lindsey
  • 2014 Bob Bridges, McGriff, Seibels & Williams, Inc.
  • 2013 Dennis Baltz, Willis
  • 2012 Charles Austin, Aon Corporation
  • 2011 John Greaber, Exide Technologies
  • 2010 Dan Houston, The McCart Group
  • 2009 Dr. Rob E. Hoyt, University of Georgia
  • 2008 Susan Shemanski, Spherion Corporation
  • 2007 Mike Fenlon, UPS
  • 2006 Mary Bruce Edmonds, Acuity Brands, Inc.
  • 2005 Dr. E.J. Leverett, University of Georgia
  • 2004 Pat Hopkins, McGriff, Seibels & Williams, Inc.
  • 2003 Scott Rich, Flowers Foods, Inc.
  • 2002 Michael Eremchuk, First Data Corporation
  • 2001 Paul Pressley, GoldKist, Inc.
  • 2000 Evelyn Brown, Health Prime
  • 1999 G. David Reid, Palmer & Cay of Georgia, Inc.
  • 1998 J. Gary Meggs, Southern Company
  • 1997 Dr. Sandra Gustavson, University of Georgia
  • 1996 Walter H. Buce, Jr. (awarded posthumously), National Services Industries, Inc.

Copyright 2021  Atlanta RIMS  All Rights Reserved.

Terms of Usage  |   Privacy Policy   |   Payment Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software